background image

Therapy as self-care

post thumbnail

As a therapist I work with clients daily to help them overcome a lack of confidence, anxiety etc and decided after a recent bereavement in the family that maybe I could take a leaf out of my own book and seek some therapy for myself as a form of self-care, but also to experience what my clients do when they come through the door.

This started with a vague idea that something needed to change and an email and brief zoom call, resulting in an appointment.

That was the easy part, because there was then a cascading flow of thoughts…. What would I talk about?…. Am I ready to make some changes?........what if I become over emotional?....How do I make the best use of this time, after all its not cheap to see a therapist!

The day dawned and suddenly my mind was a total blank….. I have nothing to talk about…..I’m fine really…… Do I really need to do this? etc etc.

I committed to a series of appointments over a 3 month period and totally trusted my therapist after asking around for recommendations and feeling reassured that we had a good connection.

It was odd for me being on the other side of the therapy relationship and she immediately put me at ease so that I found talking about my history and the way that I had interpreted events in my past, flowed and created eddies and whirlpools of thought, that gave way to clarity, and gradually a new understanding of my past and how it affects my present, and consequently that way I imagine my future.

I recognise that I am a work in progress, as we all are. I’m grateful for the ongoing support and therapy that I receive following on from time to time to make sense of events as they happen and I believe that it has made me a better therapist.

Published on 22/06/2022Back
Dani Dennington
Email me 01844 261 22307932 793 135
I have helped clients with:
  1. Confidence & Motivation
  2. Decision making
  3. Goal setting
  4. Relaxation & Self-Hypnosis
  5. Life Coaching
  6. Improved Relationships
  7. Confident Childbirth
  8. Managing Anxiety & Stress
  9. Public Speaking 
  10. Depression
  11. Phobias and Fears
  12. Panic attacks
  13. Insomnia
  14. Unwanted habits & more
Would you like more choice about how you feel, respond and live your life?
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.